CFA Challenge Option for CIMA® Certification

The CFA Challenge option for CIMA® certification has been extended until the end of 2021. This means that CFA professionals may sit for the CIMA® certification exam after successful application into the program, bypassing the executive education component of the process. Below you will find several questions and answers about this challenge option. If you have additional questions, please contact the Institute's Certification Department at or 303-770-3377, option 2.

Why should I earn CIMA® certification if I'm already CFA-certified?
The bar of professionalism is rising and clients are demanding more. In a competitive marketplace, the more knowledge you display, the better. Earning CIMA® certification helps you expand your credentials and extend your expertise. Click here to learn more about the benefits of CIMA® certification.

How much does it cost and how do I apply?
The cost is US$995, which covers application, one year of Institute membership and one testing fee for the CIMA® Certification Exam.
When could I take the Certification Exam and what does it entail?
The CIMA® Certification Exam is administered via computer at Pearson VUE testing centers worldwide. It is a five-hour exam that has 125 multiple-choice questions and 15 non-scored pretest questions. Click here for more information.

Where can I find information about the content?
The Detailed Content Outline lists the subject matter eligible for the CIMA® Certification Exam, as well as the structure.

I earned the CIMA® certification in the early 1990s when I was working alongside investment consultants - I wanted to better understand their education and mindset, and CIMA® certification helped me do that. The CFA challenge option to earn CIMA® Certification was convenient, and the continuing education requirement keeps me sharp. Today, CIMA® certification is directly relevant to any investment advisor or consultant serving retail or institutional clients. And it's a great complement to CFA.
-- Rex Macey, CIMA
®, CFP®, CFA®